Wanna hear something funny?

Haha… found this today…

If you do use medication (Levothyroxine) to help supplement your thyroid hormone production, then you should avoid these foods because they can block the body’s ability to absorb the medication. In the end, that leaves you (and maybe your doctor) wondering why you feel so badly when you take your medication regularly and try to be healthy.

These foods are generally called goitrogenic and are, ironically, foods we are often encouraged to eat as part of a daily balanced diet. Ideally, you should avoid or limit the following foods: brussel sprouts, rutabagas, turnips, radishes, cauliflower, potatoes, corn, millet, cabbage, peaches, pears, strawberries, mustard greens, spinach, radishes, African cassava, and kale.

What’s so funny? These are MOST of the foods I have been eating for the past month. Lovely.

2 Comments

  1. Ted

    I’m glad you discovered that. I we check my meds for foods that may interfer.

  2. Linda

    I would hate to check for my meds I might not be able to eat anything. I only know that grapefruit can interfere – I’ve had a bottle of medication mention that in the past.

Leave a Reply

