Where has the time gone?

Wow, I guess it has been awhile since my last post. I have been busy at work and busy getting ready for vacation. Busy thinking too much about what to eat an how to exercise. It all gets very tiring sometimes. The bottom line is that I think about this way too much and as a result get burned out.

I just got back from a great vacation and am ready to move forward. My experiment with the 30 day “paleo” challenge is now over and, aside from some drinking this past week and a couple of other unapproved bites on vacation, I did pretty good. I do not like that way of eating. I felt bad most of the time for some reason and didn’t lose any weight. Plus, I felt like I thought about it all the time. What I can eat, what I cannot eat… blah, blah, blah.

I was reminded by John that I already know how to lose weight – calories in/calories out. It’s pretty easy. He also has reminded me a few times lately that I think about things to much. I think his exact words were “don’t think, just do”. (He kind of sounds like Yoda – maybe he stole it from him). It is true for so many things. It came up on our trip several times…. mostly while hiking. We had a dreaded stream crossing and I, of course, had to stop and think about every single stupid rock. He, on the other hand, moved smoothly over each rock not missing a beat. Don’t think, just do.

That is all good and well, but I do need some structure. I like a plan and I like knowing what I am doing. I like doing Crossfit, but it is going to have to be fit within a bigger running plan. I have to follow a running plan to start building up the mileage again. I will use Crossfit as crosstraining.

I have to say that the Crossfit has made me stronger and I want to keep it in my routine. Just not my whole routine. I have a year to train for the marathon so I need all the help I can get!

One other thing I learned on vacation is that I am stronger than I give myself credit for. We went on a monumental hike to the bottom of the Grand Canyon and back. It is not a recommended hike to do in summer, luckily we had cool weather and got an early start. 15 miles round trip – 7.5 miles down and 7.5 miles up in 8 hours. I was beat at the end – I am not going to lie, it was hard. Normally I would not have thought I could do it…I would have worried about the warning signs and doubted myself. But I had all day and John was with me so I went for it. It was amazing to reach the top.

Now I need to get back into a routine and set my eyes on the next goal.

Leave a Reply

