11 in 2011

Well…11 goals is a lot of goals and I not going to try to think of 11 interesting things to accomplish right now. Tim Ferriss, author of The Four Hour Work Week and the new The Four Hour Body says that goals should be exciting.  So, one goal might be to make 11 exciting goals, but I have too many non-exciting things to get done. I need to reformulate them, but for now here are my goals that I must accomplish this year, exciting or not:

Run a marathon on November 5th 2011

  • Follow Jeff Galloway’s plan in the book Running: A Year Round Plan
  • Mix in specific weight workouts from Tim Ferriss’ book The Four Hour Body and Crossft
  • Take one week at a time, one day at a time if needed, and do what I am supposed to do
  • Take one day a week completely off
  • Increase my strength in my core
  • Avoid injuries by regularly doing my stretching and mobility work

Lose 40 pounds

  • Eat only whole foods; no artificial ingredients or highly processed foods
  • Avoid white carbs
  • Don’t drink calories
  • Track food intake
  • Take one day off per week and eat whatever I want
  • Eat a high protein diet within 30-60 minutes of waking
  • Eat 20 grams of protein with each meal
  • Drink water throughout the day
  • Do what I know… I know what works and what doesn’t. Stop trying to find the magic pill!

Organize Tryon Running Club activities

  • Post consistent blogs with running information
  • Organize regular running meet-ups
  • Stay connected
  • Being part of the running club will give me something else to focus my time and energy on instead of just myself. I am motivated by the people that I meet and being accountable to others will help keep me on track.

Leave a comment