Rowing is HARD!

I have seen the rowing teams row… it appears effortless.  Let me tell you, it is not. I cannot even imagine having to row AND keep balance in a skinny little boat! Now THAT would be hard.

The plan today was to run 25-30 minutes with 4 hills but by the time I got home it was dark, cold and rainy. I contemplated the treadmill, but the rower was too tempting. I decided to have another rowing workout, despite my hands already starting to callous.

After my warm-up of my Maxwell Daily Dozen I jumped on and started rowing. The plan was a 30 minute “ladder” workout… 1 minute fast, 1 minute recovery, 2 hard, 2 recovery…. by the time I got through the 3rd interval I decided I wouldn’t make too much longer if the intervals kept increasing. I was already pooped. At that point I decided to focus on meters so I rowed 150 meters fast then slow for 150… I did that a few times and decided that maybe 100 meter intervals would be better. I had to keep telling myself that I could get through this 30 minute workout! At the last two minutes I gave it all I had. I ended up rowing 4,806 meters. It was insane!

Food:
B: eggs with spinach and salsa
L: small Greek salad and tomato soup
S: hummus and celery
D: chicken stir fry with veggies and rice
S: mixed nuts

My body is starting to get pretty sore. I am looking forward to my rest day!

Leave a Reply

