Suck it up, Buttercup

WOW – it is amazing what is lost in seven days of doing nothing! Last Sunday I started feeling bad and it all went down hill from there. I progressively got worse throughout the week with stuffy noise, itchy watery eyes, congestion… your standard Nyquil commercial. I tried every home remedy I could find to help clear it up, but the pain and pressure in my head kept getting worse so I had to drag myself to the doctor (well, nurse practitioner… a plug here for CVS’s Minute Clinic – it is great!) Any way, I spent the week trying to get through work to get home and go to bed. After a couple of days on medicine (prescription nose spray YUCK) I was feeling better, but weak. I did some walking on Saturday and Sunday, but nothing like I needed to. I have races to train for!

Today was the day. I HAD to get out there and get my 7 miles in. It was on the plan and I already missed speed training, hill day and three strength days. The sun was shining and the temp was in the low 60’s. I hate to be a whiner, but despite how beautiful of a day it is, it is February and I am a cold weather runner. After a few short miles it was near 70 and I was feeling dehydrated. Thankfully I brought plenty of water.

About half way through mile 3 I needed to walk. I was feeling the fatigue set in and 4 more miles seemed overwhelming. I ended up walking a few minutes while convinced myself I could get through these… one mile at a time. SUCK IT UP! I have run 7 miles plenty of times. And so I did again…

It took a bit longer than it should due to my pep-talk-walk, but I finished. There were days not too long ago that I would have just stopped. It is the hard days that make you stronger.

Leave a Reply

