Embracing the uncomfortable

Just to prove I wasn’t talking smack yesterday about this whole business of being uncomfortable I really set out to push it today and I did. No excuses. I didn’t let work or the crazy wind get in my way. The Crossfit Endurance workout today was first a Tabata run then 3 or more hours later some strength and conditioning.

Before eating lunch I geared up and headed out to the “tracK’ at work. The wind was strong but I pushed through it… I did a mile warm-up and then some drills. What I have learned from CFE (Crossfit Endurance) is that you have to practice your skills for running just like any other sport. After a sip of water I set the Gymboss and prepared my mind for Tabatas… the hardest 4 minutes of exercise there are! 8 rounds of 20 seconds hard effort, 10 seconds rest (a.k.a getting as much oxygen in as possible before another 20 seconds starts again). It was TOUGH. I now believe that running Tabata is worse than rowing Tabata. The wind didn’t help either – it was resistance in every direction. I nailed it and got my got speed up to 10.7 miles per hour during my 20 second intervals. It was crazy.

After a quick shower I headed back to eat my lunch. A delicious bone-in, grilled chicken breast cut up over a bed of greens and avocado with a sprinkling of olive oil and vinegar. It was awesome.

The PM workout was S&C (Strength and Conditioning) where I had to do:
5 minutes AMRAP (As many rounds as possible) of:
5 reps of “ground to overhead” with a barbell (I could only use 50 pounds)
10 push-ups
(I managed 3 reps)
then – rest one minute
5 minutes AMRAP
10 “single arm dumbbell power snatch” (I used 20 pounds)
5 burpees

I had to watch the exercises on Youtube first to figure out what to do. They were tough and hopefully I was doing them in good form. It was a tough ten minute workout! I was dripping sweat on the floor – I love that!

OH and I forgot to mention… before that workout I did one of my plank sessions. I am on a mission to hold that stupid plank for as long as possible. I have been building up over the past couple of weeks and I told John that my goal today was 1:30. He asked me if I held it until I was uncomfortable or to failure. I have to admit… when I do the plank I stop holding when I am very uncomfortable. I needed to embrace the discomfort and stay with it a bit longer. So I held… and held… I was very uncomfortable for a few seconds and it felt like my lower back was going to snap and then I held a little longer. 1:38. Those last 8 seconds were tough and my body finally could not hold anymore and I collapsed to the ground.

Can’t wait to see what’s next!

4 Comments

  1. Linda Phelps

    Keep on going daughter – I know you can do it.

    I printed some low back exercises off an orthopedic site and have been working myself up to doing all. I think tonight I will do some with the ball. I showed Jeff and thought they all were good – he said there were a couple I need to be careful of.

  2. Ted Phelps

    Laura, you are becoming more hard core everyday; making pain and discomfort your friend. You’re a regular GI Jane!

    To quote a line from the movie:

    Master Chief John Urgayle: Pain is your friend, your ally, it will tell you when you are seriously injured, it will keep you awake and angry, and remind you to finish the job and get the hell home. But you know the best thing about pain?

    Lt. Jordan O’Neil: Don’t know!

    Master Chief John Urgayle: It lets you know you’re not dead yet!

  3. lauraph2009

    I hope they help!!!

  4. lauraph2009

    I love that!!! Thanks

Leave a Reply

