Two awesome WOD’s today

I had two great workouts today compliments of CFE and Crossfit Main site. The CFE site always posts the endurance workout of the day and the Strength and Conditioning workout. Today was rest day for S&C and I didn’t want to rest! I wanted a tough but fun workout so I went to the main Crossfit site to see what they posted. I went a couple of days back and found the perfect workout.

One thing I love about the workouts is that they are have names… sometimes named after a fallen solider, other times something else. Today’s was named “Fight Gone Bad”.

“Fight Gone Bad!”

Three rounds of:
Wall-ball, 20 pound ball, 10 ft target (Reps)
Sumo deadlift high-pull, 75 pounds (Reps)
Box Jump, 20″ box (Reps)
Push-press, 75 pounds (Reps)
Row (Calories)

In this workout you move from each of five stations after a minute.The clock does not reset or stop between exercises. This is a five-minute round from which a one-minute break is allowed before repeating. On call of “rotate”, the athletes must move to next station immediately for best score. One point is given for each rep, except on the rower where each calorie is one point.

I didn’t do it as prescribed… I only used 35 pounds on the weighted exercises and I only jumped up an 8″ step. I have yet to jump up on that beautiful 20″ box John made for me for my birthday. I haven’t been practicing lately though so I have to make sure to start doing more. I really do need to at least get one jump one of these days.

I was supposed to keep track of my reps during each round but I was too busy gasping for breath. It was tough, but exactly what I wanted.

At lunch today I did my track workout. It was supposed to be 5 sets of 800 meter sprints. Again, I did not do as prescribed. I just do not have enough time at lunch. I ran for one mile down to my “track” and did my drills. The wind was blowing something fierce! I am not really thrilled with the track… it is not level so I always have to do an uphill leg. Couple that with the wind blowing straight for me I had some serious resistance work. My heart rate was easily 80-90% of max yet I felt like I couldn’t get anywhere. My laps were probably 10 seconds or more slower than they should have been. And, as usual, I started too fast so I ended up slowly down each set rather than getting stronger. I need to really work on my pacing.

Tomorrow I should be feeling this hard work! I was already sore from biking yesterday. I will sleep well tonight!

Leave a Reply

