Another great start to the week!

The week is off to a great start. I had a great run Sunday – I did a 3 mile tempo run. I really wanted to test my goal pace. Ideally, for my marathon I would love to run a 10 minute per mile pace… not sure if that is feasible. I think a 10:30 pace is feasible so that is what I tested. The run/walk ratio is 3:1. The run portion is a 9:30 pace with a 15:00 per mile walk. I think I will eventually be able to speed that walk up when I can recover faster from my run. For the three miles I was able to hold the 9:30 pace the whole time except one big hill. I can definitely do this.

The CFE model will get me there. I already feel so much stronger than I did a couple of weeks ago before I was doing CFE daily. I love the week day interval training so much. I like the high intensity running instead of the long slow runs.

Today my running workout was 30:20 x 10. After a half mile warm-up and some drills the workout was 30 seconds all out effort, 20 seconds recovery for 10 intervals. It is always funny to me how relative time is. 30 seconds of an all out effort sprint seems to take forever!

Tonight the workout was different. It started off with 6 minutes of jumping rope…. BAREFOOT! It is shocking hop much my lower legs fatigued. I thought my feet would hurt more than they did. I really felt it the most in a little muscle in the front of the leg called the peroneous brevis.

Here is the complete workout for today:

Jump Rope Barefoot 6 min, mixing in variables of DU’s, Cross Overs, single foot, running.
5 wall walks (start standing up back to the wall about 3 feet away. Lean back until hands come in contact with wall. Walk your way down as deep as you can. Reaching the floor is your ultimate goal. Walk back up the wall with out falling. That is 1 wall walk). Rest as needed between
Rest 5 min
3 Rounds for time of:
10 Hang Power Cleans – I used my standard 50 lb barbell
Farmers Walk 50 meters 35lbs KB/DB each hand
15 Pistol Squats each leg

The “wall walk” was a whole other experience. needless to say I did not walk down very low! Even though I probably didn’t go half way down I felt it in my sides and upper back. It was surprisingly fun. I do not see myself going down much further because I am so afraid of falling!

Everything about this workout was hard! The Farmers walk was even challenging. I figured it wouldn’t be much of an effort to walk with dumbbells in my hands, but 35 pounds was tough. My hands got tired…

It was a really fun workout. I pushed myself hard and did things I never did before. I can’t wait to see what tomorrow’s workout is!

Leave a Reply

