Big challenge!

The other night I decided on a whim to enter another race. A 15K run that is mostly hard pack dirt and some trail. The run is up in Asheville and sounded too good to pass up. It is the Biltmore 15K, that, unfortunately is not on the grounds of the Biltmore Estate like it used to be. Now it is on the grounds of the NC Arboretum.

Why such distance at this point? Why not? I decided that if I keep waiting to be completely trained and ready for races before I enter them that most likely I will never sign up. After the small 5K trail race last week, where I came in 15th out of 20, I decided it really wasn’t that big of a deal to come in towards the end. Yes, I did want to do better, and I am going to continue training hard to improve, but there was no shame involved. Nobody really cared.

One of my tactics with picking races is to look at the previous years results, find the last place person and decide if I can beat that person. I did that and signed up. Only then did I realize that the course has changed! So, I really have no idea what to expect. Since I have not trained at all over 3 miles I am going to do my 3:1 run/walk ratio and just make sure to keep a consistent pace. My goal is to maintain an 11 min per mile pace, which would have me finish in 1:42. That means a for a 3:1 run/walk ratio I have to run those three minutes at 9:58. I have been doing my intervals at a 9:00 minute pace so hopefully I can keep that up for 9.3 miles. I can always adjust as needed, but so far that is the plan.

This week I have to be smart with my workouts and my nutrition. Everything has to be right for this race to go well!

“You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.’ You must do the thing you think you cannot do.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

2 Comments

  1. Ted Phelps

    Sounds like a fun race, Laura. I wish we could be there but we have reservations for the Ember Grille breakfast buffet at the Westin. Complimentary gift certificate for two worth $60 should be a good spread. We’ll be thinking of you.

  2. lauraph2009

    I hope you guys have a great time!!! Can’t wait to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

