SICK AGAIN!

This is the second time this year I have gotten sick… I have not been sick for years. This is really putting a damper on my training.

I started feeling tired and had a scratchy throat. By the next morning I woke up with a headache and a sore throat. I took Monday off and felt a little better when I had to wake up early for my early morning track workout. I did the workout – 3 x 800’s at the track. They were not my fastest, but considering I could barely breathe I guess I did ok. That night I did my Crossfit workout… determined to sweat this stupid cold out of my body. After my normal warm-up I did the “Cindy” WOD – AMRAP in 10 minutes – 5 pull-ups, 10 push-ups and 15 squats… I ended up with 7 rounds plus the next round of pull-ups, push-ups and about 5 squats. Then some mobility to stretch it all out.

Wednesday I woke up a bit sore and still had a stuffy head. Work was rough and finally decided to get some over the counter medicine. I really struggle with the medicine because I hate the way it makes me feel. I found some decongestant with Advil instead of Tylenol… plus cough drops, zinc lozenges, tissues…

By the time I got home Wednesday it was all I could do to get through dinner. I ended up skipping yet another workout and going to bed at 8:00. It was a good, tough workout, too, and I was really looking forward to it.

Thursday morning… running day. Yes, I am stupid and got up at 5:00AM to go to the track. The workout? 10 x 200 meters. I debated skipping, but I did post the day and time for the running club so I felt it was my obligation to be there just in case someone showed up. I did my normal half mile run/walk warm-up and some dynamic stretching. I ran my 200’s pretty well, coughing in between each interval. The air was cool and damp and I am quite sure not the best thing for my cold.

WORK. By the time I got into the office my head was swimming and I was coughing pretty consistently. I could barely hold my head up but I had things to tend to. System testing needed to be done, someone needed to be fired (yes, really). I managed to hang on until noon and finally headed home.

All the way home I could just think about drinking grape flavored Gatorade. VERY odd for me. I had some on Sunday for my three mile run and it went down pretty good. Gatorade now has a “low calorie” line with only 5 grams of sugar. Still probably too much sugar for me, considering I had multiple servings. But, it was good SUnday and it was REALLY good today. A big insulated cup of ice with half grape Gatorade and half water. yum. It is really the only thing that tastes good.

The rest of the day I spent napping and laying around. There is not much on TV during the day. Criminal Minds was on, but I had to turn it off… they were hunting down someone killing off 20-something girls. I quickly remembered why I stopped watching it a few years ago. The next best option was “Swamp People” but my eyes were too tired to read the captions at the bottom of the screen to understand what they were saying. So much for TV watching.

It will be early to bed again today. I will drag myself to work tomorrow, but I think I will skip running!

Leave a Reply

