13 weeks to relax

13 weeks to the marathon. 13 weeks to figure out how to relax. That might seem odd, but I have to figure out a way to calm the nerves before race day. I realized… well, that is not the right word, that even for my training runs I get anxious. I worry that I am not going to run well, or be in pain, or have to walk too much, or run to slowly… why on earth would I worry about these things? They make medicine for these issues, but I refuse to take it. I have to figure out a way to just calm down.

I started my marathon training this year about the same time I applied for a new position… a position that would be a big promotion. Since I applied I have been worked up about being the right person, being prepared, making sure I was selling myself. I had it nailed. Same with training – with every workout I am trying to be prepared, have the right form, run the right pace… all these details. I just wanted to be perfect. I want to execute perfectly to succeed.

Well, needless to say, I didn’t get the job. I found out on Friday that they picked someone else. How could that be? I was the perfect person – I did everything right, I prepared, rehearsed, worried. I bet the person that got it didn’t worry as much as I did.

This is precisely what I do all the time. I don’t remember always being a worrier, but maybe I have… or is it just the past few years? Either way I worried daily over my training for my last marathon attempt and we all know where that got me. I have to have a different outcome this year. I have to get this mental game right.

I bought the books and I am diligently reading them. Today is my rest day and this week is a recovery week. I have been training for 6 weeks already and I am already worried about race day. So ridiculous! It’s not like I am going to win. I need to just enjoy the training and have fun.

So, here’s to relaxing!

3 Comments

  1. Ted Phelps

    Laura,
    I just googled “worry relaxation techniques.” Reading some of the pages just tells me I too am a worrier. The topic is so widespread that I get the impression that it is normal to worry. With so much help out there, I’m sure you can find a technique that you can add to your daily routine. I found http://www.happyhalfway.com to be informative and a good source of information.

    Having a pet was mentioned a lot as means to relax. Incidentally, my friend Doc Henry and his wife are coming to visit this Sunday. As you know, Doc is a crazed Vietnam veteran like myself. Coping with PTSD, his shrink advised him to get a dog. Not just any dog, but an “emotional service dog”, one that is trained and certified. He got one and is bringing him along. I am looking forward to meeting the little fella.

  2. lauraph2009

    That’s what I need! I never heard of an “emotional service” dog! Can’t wait to hear about it!

  3. You’re stressing and worrying b/c you are putting yourself out there and taking risks. But with great risk comes great reward. Found this great quote: “The highest reward for a man’s toil is not what he gets for it but what he becomes by it.” – John Ruskin. Also, regarding jobs and quests like that, I truly believe if you put yourself out there and the opportunity doesn’t materialize, there is reason – a better path you’re supposed to be on. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

