My Need for Speed

I want to run fast… or at least faster. I want to be in the upper mid-pack instead of the lower. Maybe, even get an age group award. That is going to take work. Katie assures me that cycling will make me faster and I believe her so I am going to cycle as much as I can.

I have had one ride with her on the road and one 50 minute session on the trainer. I must be faster by now. Right? I got to the track this morning to do my intervals. Two fast people were at the track doing their thing, too. We chatted a bit and all pressed the start button on our Garmins and headed off. This is warm-up so they should be slower… I can keep up. I felt great. I was ready to run fast. I want to hang in with them. I lasted about 200 meters before I fell back. It was good while it lasted. I had no illusion that I would ever catch up but I wanted to keep a decent distance. I didn’t want them to lap me too soon. It took them three laps before they passed me again… normally I think it is only two laps. Maybe I am getting faster!

2 Comments

  1. Danielle Shepard

    You will only get faster! That is awesome!

  2. lauraph2009

    Thanks Danielle!

Leave a Reply

