Running is simple

I appreciated my run today. Despite the chill in the air and the rain pouring down I realized how simple running is. I put on my shoes, my hat and my trusty Garmin and headed to the park. As usual, on rainy or other “bad” days I had the place to myself. My Garmin picked up the satellites and I was off. Today’s workout was to focus on my breathing. Deep, belly- breathing. Relaxing the shoulders and the arms… relaxing into my pace. The workout wasn’t about speed but about being aware of how I run.

While I did focus on all those things the peacefulness of the rain and the solitude allowed me to think about how far I have come. I am doing things now that I never dreamed of doing. I thought about when I started to train for my first Cooper River Bridge run in 2009 – a 10K! I was nervous about going 6 miles. I wasn’t sure I could do it. Now hundreds of miles later I do not have any of those doubts. I can do whatever I want to do and that is very liberating.

That new mind-set is what got me on the bike. I have secretly wanted to be a cyclist for years but I was too afraid. It is scary, especially on the roads. Oh, you think I am talking about the dangers of being on the roads? Yes, that is scary, but I am scared about other things. People seeing me out there. My not so cyclist body…. my butt in biking shorts for all the world to see (granted I try to cover them up, but still). What if people laugh at me? What will they think? I will look ridiculous on the bike – who do I think I am to be out riding in public?

Who am I run a marathon?

I can finally say WHO CARES!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

