I asked for it!

John reminded me a couple of times this week that I asked for all of this… I hired a coach to push me and make me work hard. I did, didn’t I? These last week weeks have been tough – the workouts keep getting harder and harder and my body is getting tired and sore. The problem is that I have started to fall back into my old mindset… this is too hard, I am too tired, I am slow, I am not going to PR. WHY all of these negative thoughts?

During the marathon training I did a lot of work on my mental attitude. I got worksheets and books with self-reflection questions. I did them and they worked. I finished the marathon and put them aside. I achieved my goal so I was good, right?

Well, it seems that just like anything it takes constant work! Just like dieting…. you can count calories and lose the weight, but once you lost the weight you still have to work at maintaining! If you don’t work at the maintenance then it all comes back – and sometimes more weight comes back than you lost (I have been there many times). The same thing with mental training (so it seems). The negative thoughts come back!

The good thing is that I know what I need to do to bounce back. Luckily, I have a wonderful Coach that gives me subtle reminders. The other when we did the trainer session at her house she was telling us about an article she wrote for a local endurance sports magazine. She turned around and looked at me, “YOU need to read it”. This has been on my mind for the past couple of weeks but I never went and got the magazine. I knew.

Finally this week, because I finally realized I was slowly slipping backwards, I went to the cycle shop and got it. Yep, just what I thought… the title of the article is “Train Your Brain”. Thanks Katie. She has a box in the middle of the article illustrating some common bad self-talk that she calls “monster talk”. I think she got them from my workout recaps that I write up in Training Peaks. The comforting thing is that she wrote a whole article about this… I am sure others deal with this problem, too.

So, here I go again… dusting off the brain training books and focusing on my goals and my strengths.

2 Comments

  1. Linda Phelps

    I know you will get back on track – I am proud of what you have accomplished. Keep up the good work.

  2. lauraph2009

    Thanks Mom! You are awesome – you and Dad are always so supportive and it means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

