Transition time!

On February 25th I will race my first duathlon. I signed up for it rather impulsively after I heard my training partner Cynthia was going to do it. I thought I would just dive in. 2 miles run… 20 miles bike… 2 miles run. I can do each of those things individually pretty well – hopefully I can string them all together!

The last two weekends I have had brick workouts to get used to running before and after the bike ride. The second time was a little bit easier than the first – probably because I knew what to expect. The legs still felt weird, but I ran 10 seconds faster than I did the first time.

The last piece of the puzzle was the transition. I am not sure what I was thinking was going to happen. I guess how hard could it be to run, then bike, then run again? Well, apparently they are things to know. There are lines to get passed and bikes to be racked and shoes to be juggled. Katie had me practice how I was going to get ready for each stage a few times, with a spin…

The last time I practiced, instead of running to my bike I was to spin around 5 times. Yes, make myself dizzy. Once thoroughly dizzy I was to take my helmet off and get my shoes on. WOW – that was hard!

Transitions are exhausting! I think my heart rate was as high as it is when I run. I am going to keep practicing this up until the race. I need to get used to all these actions so I am not a bumbling fool on race day (well, not as MUCH as a bumbling fool).

1 Comment

  1. Danielle Shepard

    You are so awesome! I can’t wait to hear all about the race.

Leave a Reply

