It’s who I am!

I curious thing has happened to me these last couple of months… I have found joy in my workouts. Real happiness about what I am doing. A couple of years ago when I started all of this I was filled with fear and anxiety. Worrying about how I look and what people will think… worrying about failing. I was focused on weight loss – exercise was a means to an end. It works and I lost a good bit of weight in the process. I still need to, but it is not the driving force anymore. What is? I like it.

I like training. There, I said it.

I look forward to my workouts. Heck, even yesterday on my REST day all I could think about was riding my bike. I wanted so badly to ride and ride and ride. I think that was the first time I ever didn’t want to rest! (I did rest).

Today was local trail race that I had signed up for because my friend Caroline was in charge. It is a nice race near home, but I am not a huge fan of trail running. Even though it is hard I wasn’t really dreading the experience. I was going to be out on a beautiful day with my friends running through the woods. That is pretty nice!

John surprised me and showed up half way on the trail. He notified me that I was 7 minutes behind the leaders so “pick up the pace”! haha

Naturally I had to try to go a bit faster. I passed the girl in front of me and ran hard until I got out of sight… then I had to catch my breath. haha

Up and around and through the woods and back down.

Am I smiling?

One more mile with one more big hill to go.

John again surprised me at the finish telling me to push hard and finish strong – I did.

2 Comments

  1. Danielle

    You looked great out there and so awesome that your husband was there cheering you on!

  2. I’ve suspected this for quite sometime, but I’m glad you outed yourself – LOL! We MUST love training b/c we’ve had plenty of opportunities to quit and we’re still smiling and kicking!

Leave a Reply

