Memorial Day Sprint

What a weekend! Memorial Day weekend always marks two big events…. Katheryn’s birthday and Memorial Day. I love seeing my beautiful daughter and love celebrating her life. I always treat it like a holiday because it is! 23 years ago she was born and my life was forever changed. I love being a mom and I love raising my daughter. She is growing into a strong and independent woman and I am so proud of her and I want her to be proud of me. I know she is. I am looking forward to July 7th when we run a 5K together!

This weekend is also special because it is Memorial Day. A day that we are supposed to remember all those who have fought for our freedoms and gave the ultimate sacrifice. I am one of the lucky ones… my father fought and came back to start a family. I don’t ever want to forget that so many people were not as lucky. So many young lives have been lost in wars.

Last year I devoted my day to doing the “Memorial Day Murph”… a workout honoring a fallen Navy Seal. This year I did my own little triathlon. It didn’t raise any money and there was no fan fair, but while I was swimming, biking and running my thoughts were with those who have served and have given the ultimate sacrifice.

I am lucky to be able to do the things I do. I have a loving and healthy family. I have a good job that allows me to pursue my dreams. I am appreciative everyday of all the love and support I have in my life!

Happy Memorial Day!

3 Comments

  1. Linda Phelps

    You are a remarkable daughter! I love you

  2. Caroline

    Good for you! Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend.

  3. lauraph2009

    Thanks Mom:) You are remarkable yourself!

Leave a Reply

