Whole30 Day 3 and the long ride

I had been looking forward to this ride for a while… the Fabulous Fourth Ride. It has been going on for years and I was always intrigued by it but never thought I would ride it. I might not have this year either if Katie had not created a shorter 34 mile . It was a perfect ride through my county with lots of rolling hills and smooth road. The longer, 67 mile course, rides the same route we did then another harder 33 miles.

I was a bit concerned about nutrition on the ride since my goal is to stay low carb for this 30 days. Since I have been training carbs have been the key (and probably one of the reasons I haven’t lost weight). One of the theories behind this diet is that it trains the body to burn its own fat for energy instead of relying on outside sources. The Mark Sisson of Marks Daily Apple has a good article about this today.

My concern wasn’t enough to prevent me from riding or take an emergency back-up gel. This ride was for fun – no expectations so I was just going to go with the flow. I did bring some dried fruit – apples and raisins. Yes, they are carbs, but a good kind for this type of thing. I ended up only eating about a half a cup of raisins over the 34 miles, plus one banana at a rest stop. Raisins are a decent source of magnesium and bananas potassium so they helped with my electrolytes on this hot ride in addition to providing fuel.

I packed the dried fruit in my little bike bag and ate a few every 30-45 minutes:

After the ride we had a nice lunch – they provided various wraps so I just ate the filling inside and some watermelon.

I didn’t feel very tired after the ride. I did a few things around the house and read a book. It was after sitting a little bit that I started to get sleepy and finally laid down for a short nap. It was nice.

The rest of the day was spent lounging, reading and cooking. I made a yummy dinner over some hardwood charcoal that my friend’s son is selling. It burned nicely and the food turned out great. I made burgers with balsamic marinated Portobello mushrooms and grilled onions. It was very tasty!

On the grill:

On the plate:

This dinner finally filled me up. I was hungry all day and just couldn’t get satisfied. I wanted something salty like potato chips so bad. I ate olives instead… it helped.

Food Log:
B: eggs and fruit
Ride: raisins and banana and lots of water
S: turkey and watermelon
L: Leftover Kung Pao chicken and cauliflower rice
S: olives, jerky, blueberries with coconut milk and pecans (YUM!), cucumber, almonds (not a lot of each and not all at the same time… throughout the afternoon)
D: hamburger, Portobello mushroom, onions, avocado and tomato
Tons of water – including mineral water with limes.

2 Comments

  1. Danielle

    You go girl! You are amazing and keep up the great work. You are going to feel amazing after 30 days!

  2. Linda Phelps

    Supper looks great! You are doing great!

Leave a Reply

