Whole30 Day 7 – One week down

I can’t say that I feel any different yet. Hopefully 21 more days will do the trick:)

Per the Whole30 Timeline days 6-7 read “I just want a nap”. So true! I have never wanted to nap so much in my life. However, I must say that I am not 100% sure it is all the diet. There was a lot of activity here this weekend with Katheryn and the pups here, the 5K, a party… I think even if I was eating carbs I would be tired!

Today was a hard day and if I did have bad food in the house I may have had a weak moment. Luckily (well, not really luck but good planning), I had nothing in the house to tempt me. No white wine (which I wanted very badly) or chips or chocolate…. I wanted all those things. Instead I had some mineral water, olives and hard-boiled eggs. They were good and held me over until dinner.

Tonight was beef tenderloin kabobs with grilled Portobello mushrooms and asparagus. I also made a chimichurri to go on the meat. I need to start testing recipes to give to the caterer for the wedding reception. This is not the recipe I will be passing on. It was too vinegary.

Notice the cute skewer… I got a whole set form Katheryn for my birthday in JANUARY and had not used them yet. They are just too cute to actually put on the grill, but I did and they worked great.

Food Log:
B: pork sausage and fruit
S: celery and almond butter
L: salad with grilled chicken ***
S: olives, hard-boiled egg
D: beef, mushrooms, asparagus

*** not as good as I thought. John and I went shopping today (yes, haha, I know). We shopped and went out to lunch. One place we both like is Zaxby’s. I have been modifying the Zalad’s for a while, but I knew this time I had to go a step further. I ordered the grilled house salad with no bread, no croutons, no fried onions, no cheese. Meat and veggies only. No, no dressing either.

Geez – you would have thought that would have been enough, but as the afternoon went on I started having some bloating that I haven’t had all week and burping (sorry for the details!) but I knew I had had wheat. Something got in there – this is how I feel if I get a touch of it.

Sure enough – I just checked their nutritional info and their GRILLED chicken breast has all sorts of yucky in it.

Breast Fillet: chicken(containing up to 16% of a solution consisting of water, seasoning mix (maltodextrin salt, Parmesan and cheddar cheese solids (milk, cultures, salt, enzyme))), flavoring, autolyzed yeast extract, sugar, sour cream solids (cream, nonfat dry milk, cultures), vinegar; Contains less than 2% – caramel color, citric acid, corn syrup solids, disodium phosphate, soy sauce (water, soybeans, wheat, salt), xanthan gum and sodium phosphate.

The sad thing is that I am smart about these things. I knew it just wasn’t a simple piece of chicken! It looked like chicken and tasted like chicken, but it is clearly not. This is very frustrating. Next time I will just have to go hungry.

1 Comment

  1. Congrats on your first week! My diet has been horrible this week. You are inspiring me to do better. Found out a few weeks ago that chick fil a soaks their grilled chicken in pickle juice before they grill it. I guess we are only completely safe eating at home! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

