Whole30 – Days 12, 13 and 14

Where to begin! I had a great weekend out-of-town with John. We took a Harley ride down to Helen, GA for his awards banquet. I was looking forward to the trip away, but was a bit concerned about the food situation. After the Zaxby’s situation last week I was a bit nervous about stopping at fast food restaurants (luckily we didn’t have to) and I couldn’t really pack a whole lot on the motorcycle. I also knew that on banquet night I would have little control over the food and also, that there would be drinking.

I had no intention of breaking my Whole 30 challenge, but that didn’t mean it was going to be easy.

First off, I packed what I could. I visited our local health food store and stocked up with some great stuff; individual nut butters, coconut butter, macadamia nuts, jerky sticks.

My favorite snack of the trip were these Vermont Snack Sticks. They are flavorful and chewy without all the bad stuff normally in jerky sticks.

On the way we stopped at Starbucks where I usually get an iced Latte. No can do! Darn. Dairy is the hardest thing for me to not have. I settled for my second favorite, the Americano. It was good.

We had a safe trip and got down there late afternoon. The drinking had already started. I declared myself the designated driver so at least I had two reasons not to drink! Oddly, John and his friend’s stories are actually funny enough sober:)

Another thing I did before we left was to investigate restaurants in Helen and I found an excellent one that focused on fresh, local ingredients and grilled their meats over a wood fire. What could be more perfect? Well, sadly, it didn’t work out. We had a group of 12 that had other ideas about dinner and, since this weekend was not about me, I just went with the flow. Their first choice was a dive bar (gag), thankfully a few others did not find that appealing either, so we went to steakhouse down the road. It was ok. I was able to get a big prime rib and the waitress was very nice about accommodating my request… plain horseradish instead of horseradish sauce, double salad instead of salad and potato. The salad was a bit sad, but it filled me up. They did not have any olive oil so I just ate it plain.

The breakfast served a continental breakfast (i.e., pastries, cereal, toast, donuts). Luckily my jerky sticks and nut butter. They did have a banana the first day so I ate it with the almond butter and the jerky. It was actually quite good.

John and I spent the day on the motorcycle checking out the area. We ended up finding a decent BBQ place where I got a smoked turkey salad. Again, no dressing.

After swimming and lounging it was time for dinner.

Buffet: salad, potato salad, corn on the cob, mashed potatoes, fried chicken, fried fish, country ribs.

My plate: salad (again, lackluster mix) and some pork ribs. Again, NO dressing choices, but I finally got smart. LEMON. There was a bowl of lemon wedges on the table that I squeezed all over and it was tasty.

Needless to say, when we got back to the hotel about 9:30 I raided my snack bag! Jerky sticks and dried coconut to the rescue!

Oh, I also forgot that there was a little store down the road that sold Boar’s Head meats so I did get some smoked turkey that I nibbled on all weekend, too.

And, this bad of macadamia nuts is nearly gone. I totally cracked out on them this weekend, but I have to say they saved me!

The trip home was really nice – John took the long way through the NC mountains and it was gorgeous. We avoided a lot of rain and had a nice trip back.

1 Comment

  1. Danielle Shepard

    You Survived! I am so proud of you. It is not easy but you are doing it!.

Leave a Reply

