Thursday – a day late

Randomly, as usual, the internet went out last night. Not really the internet but our stupid wireless. I really need to get a new router one day. Usually I moan and groan and John, being awesome at reading my signs, dashes upstairs to reset it the wireless so I can be happily on my surfing and blogging way. Last night I just didn’t care. I took it as a sign that I needed to just sit here. I read a book – a real book, not on my Nook. I am reading Light on Yoga by B.K.S Iyengar.

I had to buy the book so I could see the poses and the descriptions clearly (with my reading glasses… the print is extra small). I thought if I am going to continue yoga I want to know more about what the poses do and mean and the proper ways to do them. Last night was my last yoga class of this 4 week series. I learned a lot but have a lot of practice to do. Class starts back up the Monday after Labor Day.

Recap of yesterday:
High point: I had a couple, mostly involving my friends at work and outside of work. I am so lucky to have some great people in my life.

Low point: My stomach. My body told me very clearly that corn is not my friend. On Wednesday we had our running club meeting at a Mexican restuarant and I had about 6 corn chips and two steak tacos with corn tortillas. This is my first corn experience since I start Whole30. Not good. Nothing bad or graphic happened, but general uneasiness all day and bloated. Not the way I want to feel so those things are out of good.

Food log:
It was only yesterday and I can barely remember. Due to my bloating I really did not feel like eating.
7:00AM – eggs, sausage, spinach
12:00PM – jerky and coconut
4:30PM – Lara Bar
8:30PM – nuts (I found delicious unsalted mixed nuts at Costco)

Not a very balanced day. I made salmon patties for dinner, but by the time I got home from yoga I didn’t want to eat them.

Activity:
Yoga
Tonight was tough. I think because it was our last day she really gave us some poses that were hard and made us hold them longer. I was sweating bad!

Song of the day:
Bird of Sorrow
I am addicted to Glen Hansard right now. The songs are deep and emotional and he sings them with such emotion it is amazing. I would love see him in person. My brother just introduced me to this music. Normally I avoid this type of music – I have always preferred to drown things out with pop bands that don’t make me think.

2 Comments

  1. How is your back doing? Hopefully better!! I’ll let you know this weekend about yoga on Monday. I ran/walked the lake this morning. That makes twice this week. Absolutely cannot believe I have done that, and that I got up before 6am to do it!

  2. Linda Phelps

    He does have good music. I could sit back and just listen to him in peace and quiet

Leave a Reply

