Celebration Friday!

For the past few years I Friday has been my weigh-in day. Some Fridays that meant celebration. Other Fridays it meant despair. It is ridiculous really. Celebration Fridays were when I felt good about myself… I lost weight. I must be a success! I was worthy of a special treat. On Despair Fridays I must not have lost weight so therefore not a success and I deserved a treat to make myself feel better.

I am no longer going to do that. I am happy and feel great and I have ditched the scale.

I have known for a while that my relationship with the scale was not a healthy one. Regardless of how wonderful I felt on any particular Friday the number on the scale would dictate the rest of my day. This is irrational.

The other week Whole 9 blogged about this Jump Off the Scale: 174,203 Ways to Measure Health

You can read their post for all the ways… and the reader comments as well. I am not going to rehash them here. They are all good and I am using non-scale successes from now on.

What are we celebrating this week?

Mom’s birthday! My wonderful mother’s birthday is this week and we are going to celebrate! I love birthdays… celebrating people’s lives is so much fun. My mom is wonderful and a constant supporter. Both my parents have always allowed me to just be myself. I am so lucky.

We are also celebrating the start of National Yoga Month. I love the way it makes me feel and I love the people I am getting to know through yoga. My yoga teacher, and friend, Michelle is amazing. I can’t wait to start yoga classes again next week to see what she learned at a yoga retreat!

This is a bit hard to see, but Michelle is going into a handstand on a stand-up paddle board!

Can’t wait to see what I get to celebrate next week!

Leave a Reply

