Whole42 – Day 40

It was a good solid day despite not getting my run it. It was pouring rain at lunch and I do not run on treadmills… it is a rule I have. I would have run if it was just sprinkling, but it was pretty much a down pour.

Food:
chicken, pumpkin spice latte
zucchini and guacamole
tuna, apple and pecans
roast beef and veggies (carrots, squash, leeks)
1 date with almond butter

Activity:
Plank Challenge – 1:30
Push-up Challenge – 22 in intervals – finished with a max of 5
Practiced lifting form with Coach Alison

SL5x5:
Squats – 50 lbs
Overhead Press – 45 lbs
Deadlift – 1 x 95 lbs (deadlifts are only done once instead of 5)

500 meter row TT – 2:07 (PR is 1:58, I will have work up again!)

Mental:
More quiet time in the car. It has been stressful at work – lots of changes, not all happy for everyone and I end up having to break the news to people more often than I would like. Difficult conversations are not my strength. I am the happy helper, the problem solver, the person people go to when they need to know things. I don’t like being the bad guy and never will, especially if I do not agree with the reasoning. Sometimes I am just a pawn and I have to face that.

2 Comments

  1. Ted Phelps

    Laura, I googled your statement “Difficult conversations are not my strength” and what came up first on the list was, “Whole42 – Day 40 « My Healthy Challenge” LOL.

    But, down the list a ways is a pdf book entitle, “Difficult Conversations: How to Discuss What Matters Most.”

    I only skimmed though it, but it sure addresses the problem and I like the way the author writes.

    In the introduction he says, “Delivering a difficult message is like throwing a hand grenade. Coated with sugar, thrown hard or soft, a hand grenade is still going to do damage. Try as you may, there’s no way to throw a hand grenade with tact or to outrun the consequences. And keeping it to yourself is no better. Choosing not to deliver a difficult message is like hanging on to a hand grenade once you’ve pulled the pin.”

    Good stuff, I think this book can help.

  2. lauraph2009

    Thanks Dad! I will have to check that out!

Leave a Reply

