Keep it Simple

The wedding is over and I think I am thoroughly ready to start training again. However, I am battling a problem I have in the past… how to train. My mind goes crazy with this question – there are so many things to think about. What running plan should I follow? How will I fit in cycling? How can I combine my half marathon training and a 60 mile bike ride? What about strength training, stretching, food?

The great thing about having a coach is that all of this is taken care of – I just have to obey. I decided for this first round not to get a coach. I have run multiple half marathons and I have ridden my bike enough to know that I can get myself to ride 60 flat miles.

I still need a plan. I have been skimming the internet, reading my magazines and training books. Trying to decide which coaches plan to follow. I tend to drive myself nuts with this stuff. I used to do it more in the early days of running. I remember one conversation I had with John and he told me that I spend more time reading about running than actually running. Probably true.

He shared his words of wisdom again the other day when I was contemplating getting a coach again. He said that he will tell me what to do… workout hard every day.

That is pretty simple, but I still need SOME guidance.

I decided to just follow a generic half marathon plan from Runners World magazine and ride my bike on the trainer on the cross-training days and enjoy a long ride on the weekend. Sounds like a simple plan. I am just going to get the miles in and have fun. These next 11 weeks are just about building a nice endurance base and getting back into the training groove.

2 Comments

  1. Ted Phelps

    Sounds good. They say failing to plan is planning to fail.

  2. Would love to do some of your runs with you, I do better with a plan too.

Leave a Reply

