Paleo Challenge Day 2

I had an amazing workout tonight! It was tough but I decided to go for it and do the 45 pound kettlebell. After about two swings I shook my head and was going to find a 35 lb bell…. Cassie gave some encouragement and I went for it. I even grunted – it couldn’t be helped and I am not ashamed! haha

Olympic Lifting:

15 minutes for 5X1 Hang Clean & Jerk  (I did 85 lbs, which I think is a PR – at least how I did it tonight. I got my squat perfectly low and really got under the bar. THAT was fun!)

* Work to a heavy, but perfect, single for the day.
Metcon:
15 Burpees
15 KBS (70/55)  – I used 45 lbs.
x 5
Time: 14:47 – the cut off was 15 minutes so I barely made it. I had 5 more swings left and I was gasping for breath when I saw the clock was at 14:30. I did not want to miss the cut off.
My burpees are slowly improving… one day….
Food:
B: 3 eggs, sausage, spinach
S: macadamia nuts
L: tuna salad, apple, pecans, carrot sticks
S: dates and almond butter
D: crockpot brushetta chicken, spinach, olives and artichoke hearts

The only way I get through the week having healthy meals is to use it simply and not over complicate. In fact, I found that when I originally started Paleo cooking I was always looking for new recipes and cookbooks and trying to “Paleotize” my favorite foods. More often then not they were not the same as the “real” versions so I just decided to COOK FOOD.  Meat and veggies are standard – keep it simple.

The crockpot chicken is so easy – through in a 6 pack of boneless skinless chicken breasts and dump over fire roasted tomatoes, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic, Italian seasoning. I do not measure, but I found a recipe that sounds like what I did:
Ingredients for Balsamic Brushetta Crock Pot Chicken
4 chicken breasts, boneless and skinless
3 14.5-ounce cans petite diced tomatoes (I used fire roasted and olive oil)
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1 large sweet onion, thinly sliced
2 tablespoons Italian seasoning
1 tablespoon minced garlic
For John I made a side of pasta (he is not paleo and doesn’t intend to be, but eats mostly the same as I do).
For mine I served it over a good helping of spinach (it gets nice and wilted) and tossed in some olives and artichoke hearts. SO good and easy.
IMG_2848
Leave a Reply

