Day 21

What a great week! For the first time in over a year I feel like I am back to where I need to be to start making real progress.

This week I did 5 Crossfit workouts, 3 runs, and mobility daily.  I feel strong and because i am fueling and hydrating smartly I am not really having a ton of soreness.

Today my training planned called for a two mile time trial. After last week’s 10:34 mile I knew the two miles would be a bit slower… I wanted to finish in less than 23 minutes. After a 10 minute warm-up of drills and walking I ran. I set a decent pace I could maintain. Although this is a “time trial” I technically should have gone all out… but since I have not been running, but goal was just to RUN for 2 miles without stopping. Since I had not run 2 miles in awhile I wanted to take a conservative pace. I used my Garmin watch, but hid the screen so I could not see what pace I was running. I wanted to run by feel and be steady.

Yesterday I bought new shoes and also tried out using a metatarsal lift/pad under my right foot. After about 1.25 miles my foot started to bother me a bit. I slowed my pace to try to move my foot around in my shoe a bit. I worked out a bit of a cramp and kept going.  My legs and breathing felt good. I really think I could have gone longer, which is good news!  I ended up running the two miles in 23:17… a bit off from what I wanted, but still ok.   At least now I know what I need to do over the next 9 weeks… I need to train faster!

My goal for the 5K is to finish less than 33:00 minutes… that means about a 10:30 pace.  I have to drop my pace by a mile per minute between now and 3/21!

Leave a Reply

