Post Whole 30

I just realized I never followed up after day 21. This Whole 30 was excellent. I followed it 100% and felt great the entire time. My workouts were great and energy high. I felt stronger.

For the past two weeks I have been adding back in some foods that I eliminated. Sadly, it doesn’t take much to feel the effects. I for the past three weekends I have had cocktails on Friday or/and Saturday night… I can definitely tell a difference in my sleep and energy level the next couple of days after. I do enjoy having cocktails, but they are really not worth the bad feelings after… and, I am just talking about 2-3 drinks… NOT getting drunk.  I will need to limit this to special occasions.

Dairy. I love good butter and cheese and always thought I tolerated it fine. I don’t just straight up drink milk or anything, but do like cooking with butter and having nice cheese and crackers. This past week I have cooked with it a few times more than normal. Everything was so good – butternut squash and goat cheese lasagna (gluten free), goat cheese omelet (can’t let that expensive goat cheese go to waste!), also went out for Mexican food (cheese enchilada anyone?), pizza….  yum.

After two weeks of adding this stuff in I was fatigued and hurting. I can’t help but to thing they are related. Last week I decided to take some time off from my workouts.  My joints hurt like they were over the holidays. I forgot the pain I was in. My feet, hips and hands hurt… and now my neck.

I have been working out very hard since the beginning of the year… 5 times a week for the past 7 weeks, and 2-3 runs a week. I will say that I was ready for a down week.  When I was strictly endurance training there were cut-back weeks built into the program. Maybe there are in Crossfit, but I don’t feel it.  Plus, I have not been doing my mobility/stretching work like I keep telling myself I need to do! I have the knowledge and the tools… I just have to do it. This was one of my big goals for this year and I can’t seem to be consistent.

With this mobility stuff I am just going to take it one day at a time… goal… do at least 10 minutes a day. They do not even have to be all at once!  DO THE MOVES!

Leave a Reply

